Home » Gaming » Microsoft » Ready, Set, Go! Kinect 100-metre virtual dash to set Guinness World Record for Microsoft

Ready, Set, Go! Kinect 100-metre virtual dash to set Guinness World Record for Microsoft

Get your running shoes on! Microsoft is encouraging gamers to get up, get active and help set a new Guinness World Record for the 100 metre dash. But this is a dash with a difference – it’s all done from the relative comfort of your home, via motion control gaming system Kinect.

The Xbox Live Gold preview weekend will be held April 21 to the 25th and will allow anyone with an Xbox 360 access to the full benefits of the premium Xbox community gaming experience without charge. Also if you’re Kinect-ed and prepared to get your sweat on you can participate in the Guinness World Record-setting event which aims to get as many people as possible doing the 100 metres at the same time – Worldwide!

Microsoft already holds a Guinness World Record with Kinect for the “Fastest Selling Consumer Electronics Product” with numbers recorded at over 10-million sales – this living room run will no doubt bring home another gold medal.

The dash happens on Saturday 23rd April at 6pm in the UK and all you will need is an Xbox 360 with Kinect and Kinect Sports – join the community and play the sprint mini-game at the assigned time and your run will be recorded amongst the millions of other runners. In reward for your hard efforts you will receive a Guinness World Record t-shirt for your avatar – pretty cool!

Start times for those in other world time zones: 7pm CET, 10am PDT and 1pm EDT

Will you be taking part in this World Record attempt? Let us know at the official Gadget Helpline Facebook Page!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Post a comment

*

Your email address will not be shared or made public.

*

20 − one =