Home » Operating Systems » Apple iOS » Apple iCloud users to be downgraded to 5GB from September 30th

Apple iCloud users to be downgraded to 5GB from September 30th

Apple has contacted iCloud subscribers today to alert them to a change in their usage of the cloud-storage based service that will mean as of 30th September, the cloud storage space will be limited to 5GB, unless users upgrade.

If any existing users are currently exceeding the 5GB storage on their account then they will need to remove files or upgrade to the new paid iCloud subscription service to use the 20GB version.

As of the 30th of September Apple will be reducing the free size for all of its customers from the current 20GB limit to the smaller 5GB (unless paid for!), but this has always been the case for the users of the complimentary storage that was previously available to customers who made the move from a MobileMe account to iCloud.

The iCloud service has enabled Apple users to back up and store emails, files and documents to the cloud storage systemand then pull the documents down to Apple devices using 3G or Wi-Fi connectivity. Apple has since begun using the iCloud as a syncing tool, which means that access to the higher memory is not necessary.

The email to customers states:

Dear ICLOUD USER,

Your iCloud storage will be reduced to 5 GB on 09/30/2012. However, you are currently using more than 5 GB.

Unless you take action before your downgrade takes effect, backups to iCloud will stop, and apps will no longer be able to save documents to iCloud. You can either free up storage or cancel your downgrade to keep your current storage plan for another year.

To free up storage in your account:

Step 1:
On your iOS device, go to Settings and tap iCloud

Step 2:
Tap Storage & Backup

Step 3:
Tap Manage Storage and choose items you’d like to delete or stop backing up For more information on managing your iCloud storage, please read this article.

To keep your current storage plan:

Step 1:
On your iOS device, go to Settings and tap iCloud

Step 2:
Tap Account

Step 3:
Tap your current plan, then choose Downgrade Options and follow the prompts You can also cancel your downgrade from a Mac or PC.

Apple has stated that If you are using more than 5GB of storage when the changeover happens that they will not delete any of your details but the company will put a freeze on the account which will means that you will be unable to upload and sync files until you remove some files to bring the account under 5GB.

Let us know your thoughts on our comments below or via our @Gadget_Helpline Twitter page or Official Facebook group.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Post a comment

*

Your email address will not be shared or made public.

*

eleven − three =